Monday 9 December 2013

Ian Duhig Opens T S Eliot Prize 2013

As part of his role as a judge of this year’s T S Eliot Prize, poet Ian Duhig, will be opening the T S Eliot Prize Shortlist Readings event at the Southbank Centre’s Royal Festival Hall at 7pm on Sunday 12th January 2014 by reading a poem by TS Eliot. 

The evening is one of the biggest, and best attended, poetry events in the UK, and will be hosted by Ian McMillan. 

The judges have chosen the shortlist from 113 books submitted by publishers:
Helen Mort – Division Street (Chatto & Windus)
Robin Robertson – Hill of Doors (Picador)
SinĂ©ad Morrissey – Parallax (Carcanet)
Maurice Riordan – The Water Stealer (Faber)
Daljit Nagra – Ramayana: A Retelling (Faber)
Dannie Abse – Speak, Old Parrot (Hutchinson)
Michael Symmons Roberts – Drysalter (Jonathan Cape)
George Szirtes – Bad Machine (Bloodaxe)
Anne Carson – Red Doc  (Jonathan Cape)
Moniza Alvi – At the Time of Partition (Bloodaxe)

All shortlisted poets will be reading from their work with the exception of Anne Carson. Poet and critic Ruth Padel will read in her place.

The Prize is awarded annually to the writer of the best new poetry collection published in the UK or Ireland. It is unique as it is always judged by a panel of established poets and it has been described by Sir Andrew Motion as 'the Prize most poets want to win'.

No comments:

Post a Comment