Tuesday 4 June 2013

Wales Book of the Year Award 2013 Short List

The annual Wales Book of the Year journey began on Monday 13th May as the 2013 Short List was announced via a special online broadcast. Using a digital platform for the Short List means that everyone, whether in Wales or further afield, can celebrate the wealth of literary talent in Wales.

The broadcast was hosted by radio DJ and television presenter Lisa Gwilym. Lisa was joined for the announcement by two of the Wales Book of the Year judges Alun Gibbard and Jasper Fforde who discussed the panel’s choices, and gave a unique insight into the judging experience.

To watch the video and read about the shortlisted books, please visit the Wales Book of the Year website: www.walesbookoftheyear.co.uk

Over one hundred eligible English-language books were submitted for the 2013 Award, from which the following titles have been selected as the Wales Book of the Year 2013 Short List:

Roland Mathias Poetry Prize Short List:

Deryn Rees-Jones, Burying of the Wren (Seren)
Samantha Wynne-Rhydderch, Banjo (Picador)
Rhian Edwards, Clueless Dogs (Seren)

Fiction Short List:

Matthew Francis, Singing a Man to Death (Cinnamon Press)
Gee Williams, A Girl’s Arm (Salt Publishing)
James Smythe, The Testimony (Blue Door)

Creative Non-Fiction Short List:

John Harrison, Forgotten Footprints (Parthian)
Jon Gower, Wales at Water’s Edge (Gwasg Gomer)
Meic Stephens, Welsh Lives (Y Lolfa)

The 2013 Short List features writers at various stages of their literary careers. While James Smythe and Deryn Rees-Jones both appear on the Short List for the first time, as does Rhian Edwards for her debut poetry collection, other writers featured are no stranger to the Award, with John Harrison and Jon Gower both having won the accolade in recent years.

For the first time in the long history of the Award, one writer has reached both the English and Welsh Short List in the same year. This remarkable achievement is one of many for Meic Stephens who is one of Wales’ most celebrated writers and editors.

The English-language books were judged by writer and business consultant Ffion Hague, popular fantasy novelist Jasper Fforde, and lecturer and poet Richard Marggraf Turley.

The People's Choice Prize -
Vote for your favourite!

The readers of Wales and beyond can also have their say on who should lift a Wales Book of the Year trophy. You can now vote for your favourite English-language shortlisted book on the Wales Online website.

The Wales Book of the Year Award Ceremony 2013

Thursday 18th July, 7pm
The Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama
Cardiff, CF10 3ER
Tickets: £10.00 / £8.00 (Welsh Academy Members and Associates)

At this prestigious Award Ceremony, each category winner will receive a prize of £2,000, and the two main winners in each language will receive an additional £6,000. The People’s Choice Award winner will also be announced at the ceremony and will receive a specially commissioned trophy.

Tickets to the Award Ceremony cost just £10.00 / £8.00 and can be purchased by contacting Literature Wales on: post@literaturewales.org / 029 2047 2266

Source: Literature Wales

No comments:

Post a Comment