Wednesday 13 November 2013

Claire Vaye Watkins named the 2013 winner of the Dylan Thomas Prize

On Thursday 7th November, it was announced that the American author, Claire Vaye Watkins has won the 2013 Dylan Thomas Prize. The announcement was made at an awards ceremony held at the National Waterfront Museum in Dylan Thomas’ hometown of Swansea. The 29-year-old California-born author won the prize for her collection of short stories Battleborn, which was the unanimous choice of the judges.

The winner was chosen by a panel of judges including Hay Festival founder Peter Florence, novelist Allison Pearson, author, singer and BBC 6 music presenter Cerys Matthews, journalist and author Carolyn Hitt, commentator and artist Kim Howells, Guardian Review journalist Nicholas Wroe, and Chairman of the Dylan Thomas Prize, Peter Stead.

Congratulations also to Welsh writer, Jemma L King who's debut poetry collection, The Shape of a Forest, was short-listed for the celebrated Dylan Thomas Prize. Jemma will be one of a team of writers who will deliver one hour workshops in schools throughout Wales as part of Literature Wales’ Developing Dylan project. Jemma was also awarded a New Writer’s Bursary from Literature Wales, to work on her next collection of poetry between 2013 - 2014.

Source Literature Wales

No comments:

Post a Comment