Wednesday 3 July 2013

Doctor Who 50th Anniversary - Seventh Author Announced ...

Malorie Blackman, the new Children’s Laureate and author of the much-acclaimed Noughts and Crosses series, has just been revealed as the author of the seventh short story in Puffin’s sensational ebook series celebrating the 50th anniversary of Doctor Who. Malorie’s story about the Seventh Doctor (played by Sylvester McCoy) is called The Ripple Effect and is to be released globally on 23rd July, priced at £1.99.

When the TARDIS lands on Skaro, the Seventh Doctor and Ace are shocked to discover the planet has become the universal centre of learning, populated by a race of peace-loving Daleks. Ever suspicious of his archenemies' motives, the Doctor learns of a threat that could literally tear the universe apart...
Malorie Blackman commented: "I have always loved Doctor Who - from the time I was a child and the Daleks used to make me run and hide behind the sofa, to Saturday morning pictures when I first saw the Doctor Who films featuring Peter Cushing, right up to the current Doctor with Matt Smith. So when I was asked to write a Doctor Who story featuring the seventh Doctor, Sylvester McCoy, I didn't even need to pause to think about it. My answer was an immediate yes. I've always found Sylvester McCoy's Doctor fascinating because of the way his character developed from a bit of a clown to a Doctor with a more Machiavellian streak. In my story, the Doctor's actions are responsible for a universal catastrophe which forces him to face up to his own fears and prejudices."

Malorie Blackman has written over fifty books, including the much acclaimed Noughts & Crosses, and is acknowledged as one of today's most imaginative and convincing writers for young readers. She has been awarded numerous prizes for her work, including the Red House Children's Book Award and the Fantastic Fiction Award. Malorie has also been shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal. In 2005 she was honoured ith the Eleanor Farjeon Award in recognition of her contribution to children's books, and in 2008 she received an OBE for her services to children's literature. She has been described by The Times as 'a national treasure'. Malorie Blackman, has succeeded Julia Donaldson as the Children's Laureate for 2013-2015.

The Ripple Effect will be released on the 23rd July for  £1.99, and a video introduction will be released on the 11th July 2013.

The first six instalments in the ebook series are written by Eoin Colfer, Michael Scott, Marcus Sedgwick, Philip Reeve, Patrick Ness and Richelle Mead. In total there will be eleven short stories, each based on one of the Eleven Doctors, priced at £1.99 and released on the 23rd of each month from January to November 2013. Each story is written by a different author, bringing together some of the most exciting names in children’s fiction. These authors will each bring their own interpretation and reimagining of their chosen Doctor to create a unique Doctor Who adventure in their own inimitable style. The author of the next eshort based on the Eighth Doctor, Paul McGann, will be revealed on 6th August.

A paperback anthology of the eleven short stories called Doctor Who: 11 Doctors, 11 stories will publish, alongside the final eshort featuring the Eleventh Doctor, on 23rd November 2013.

No comments:

Post a Comment