Sunday 8 September 2013


The Poetry Book Society is delighted to announce that it will be running a ten venue national tour to celebrate the 20th anniversary of the first T S Eliot Prize, set up in 1993 to mark its 40th anniversary and to honour its founding poet.
The tour will visit Portsmouth on 17th September, then Winchester, Oldham, Halifax, Ludlow, Glasgow, Norwich, Liverpool, Durham and finally Sheffield on 15th October. For the first time audiences outside London will have the opportunity to hear poetry from the T S Eliot Prize shortlisted poets - who have made the Readings in the Southbank’s Royal Festival Hall the most thrilling as well as the largest event of the poetry year - alongside emerging local voices.

17th September

David Russell Theatre, Portsmouth Grammar School

George Szirtes, Penelope Shuttle, Tim Liardet & Maggie Sawkins

18th September

Discovery Centre, Winchester

David Harsent, Annie Freud, Daljit Nagra & Stephen Boyce


19th September

Oldham Library

Jen Hadfield, Jane Draycott, Ian Duhig & Shamshad Khan

25th September

Square Chapel, Halifax

John Burnside, Christopher Reid, Fiona Sampson & Zaffar Kunial

27th September

Ludlow Assembly Rooms

Philip Gross, Gillian Clarke, Frances Leviston & Luke Kennard

30th September

Mitchell Library Main Hall, Glasgow

Don Paterson, Kathleen Jamie, Robert Crawford & William Letford

3rd October

The Curve at the Forum, Millennium Library, Norwich

George Szirtes, Sean Borodale, Moniza Alvi & Helen Ivory

11th October

The Bluecoat, Liverpool

George Szirtes, Maura Dooley, Sam Willetts & Andrew McMillan

12th October

Durham Book Festival, Durham Town Hall

Philip Gross, Sinead Morrissey & Deryn Rees-Jones


15th October

Off the Shelf Festival, Arundel Room, Millennium Galleries, Sheffield

Sean O’Brien, Paul Farley, Esther Morgan & Helen Mort

The T S Eliot Prize 20th Anniversary Tour is supported using public funding by the National Lottery through Arts Council England.

The 2013 T S Eliot Prize shortlist will be announced on 24th October.

The 2013 T S Eliot Prize Shortlist Readings will take place on Sunday 12th January 2014 at Southbank Centre’s Royal Festival Hall and the winner of the 2013 Prize will be announced at the award ceremony the following evening. The PBS will also be running the T S Eliot Prize Shadowing and Reading Groups Schemes.

For further information, please click here.

No comments:

Post a Comment